If They Can, Why Can’t I?

Writing-writing-31275199-1500-1004I belong to an organization called “Woman At Woodstock,” where women gather together lift one another up, gather resources, knowledge, connections, and support from women. Today they are holding their First “Blog Hop,” an interactive conversation among like-minded women. They have given us a question to answer:

What Were You Thinking When You Decided to Go For Something Big?

So  what was I thinking when I decided to write my first book, and start my own blog. I was thinking, if they can, why can’t I. So who is the they? They is the women who inspire me, such as Michelle Malkin, Megan Kelly, Ann Coulter, and yes, you guessed it, Sarah Palin! If these woman could write books and share their thoughts with the world, why couldn’t I?

After the election of Barrack Obama, and watching the direction he was taking the country, I found myself writing about my discontent and my frustration on my FB page. I opened a group called Journal of a Conservative G-Ma, because after all, that is precisely what I am, a conservative G-Ma; made sense to me. So I began sharing my thoughts with others, putting it out there, and before I knew it, my little corner of the world began to grow. More and more like-minded people sent me friend requests as my little essays were shared with others on their FB walls. It was my Aunt and my older Sister who encouraged me to write, and to author a book. At first I thought these two women had lost their minds, I’m not a writer, I’m a social worker and an artist, but most definitely not a writer. Then I had a close female friend on FB, Christine who I admired and looked up to echo what my aunt and my sis had been saying. Why is it that we are more prone to listen to someone other than a family member? A good question for another time.

keyboardAfter many, many prompts, and well, a good kick in the pants, I finally began to take my blogging and my writing a bit more seriously and my fan club as it were began to grow, until I was finally published on another blog site. I know, it does not seem like much, but to me, it was everything; someone else actually liked what I wrote, so much so, that they wanted to post my article/essay on their personal blog; I was well pleased. I then became a regular contributor to that blog site, until I took a leap of faith and started my own blog, separate and independent from Facebook. It was a leap of faith, and always that little voice in the back of my head saying, “If they can, why can’t I?” Like the little Red engine, I kept saying, I think I can; I think I can, as I inch up what seems to be an insurmountable mountain; and 681 followers later, I am still going strong.

10179_296739960463413_309056220_nI received my next accolade when I was invited to write for The Life and Liberty Group, which is a conservative and Christian based media group. To someone who has never written professionally, is not a bonafide journalist, or author I sometimes stand back in awe and amazement. Having said that, I come from a family of strong women, my mother raised her girls to believe we could do anything we put our minds to, that the sky was the limit. So my mother was my first role model, the first woman in my life who showed me all the possibilities that life had to offer anyone willing to step out in faith. Although my mother is no longer with us, I know she is smiling down from heaven at her little girl, cheering me on. My older sister and my younger sister are now my earthly cheer leaders, and I continue to pursue a new path in my life’s journey, that of writer and author. Where it will lead me to, I haven’t a clue. All I know is I am loving the journey and the experience. So remember that no matter where you are in life, how old you are, each day is a brand new day, with a fresh new canvas which you can paint your dreams upon.

Oh and I have completed Chapter One of my Book…. how exciting.

By A.K. Robson

Copyright 2013

About andreakrobson

"Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers." ~ Isaac Asimov I am a strong, honorable, honest American G-Ma (grandmother), with a great sense of humor (seriously, you need a sense of humor these days!), who loves my country! I am concerned for my grandchildren's future, and the future of the Republic. I am a writer and blogger and my desire is to spread the truth! Welcome to my little corner of the WORLD!
This entry was posted in Communication, New Beginnings, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If They Can, Why Can’t I?

  1. Pingback: Author seeks glue holding America together-Shanghai Daily | ???? — English…

  2. My spouse and I stumbled over here from a different web address and thought I might check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to exploring your web page repeatedly.

Leave a Reply

